French Processing community day and how to get started

Hi Processing fellows!

I was searching something on the Processing website and came across the Processing community day 2020 and I think I missed the community Hangout, my bad ! :slight_smile:

I am living in France and currently studying in the VFX/3d animation field and I didn’t see any french PCD events, this is too bad!

Is there any french people on the forum that ever participated to french events?
I saw this thread but it seems that it’s not up to date : Processing Community Day in French
@phoebus @mowh @jb4x @kfrajer

Processing and the community contributed so much to my learning path that I want to give back to the community and teach others and potentially help for events.

I think that I’m not that experienced yet but how difficult is it to organize a Processing event?

If anyone have ideas, stories of thoughts let me know!

3 Likes

As far as I know the oldest event in France was Processing Paris, organised once a year by Julien Gachadoat (alias v3ga) from 2010 to 2015.

With the creation of the “Processing Community Days” in 2017, (alongside a slight decline in interest for the software) the event moved to Nantes where it used to be held by Stereolux together with Mr. Gachadoat until 2019.

It is also worth mentioning that recent years (2018-2019) have seen the emergence of a new festival dedicated to creative coding as a whole (Javascript, OpenFrameworks, Processing, VVVV, …) called Grow Paris under the impulsion of Nicolas Barradeau (alias nicoptere).

These 2 people (Messrs. Gachadoat and Barradeau) are probably the best persons to contact regarding the organization of such event in your country.

2 Likes

HI,
I participate to the 2019 edition PCD in Nantes as speaker at Stereolux. It was managed mainly by BĂ©renger Recoules, and we did workshops for beginners for Processing & p5.js and on a other side workshops for ML with RunwayML & ml5js.