Webcam sketch "mirror" not working

I’m just getting started with processing, attempting to learn the ropes, and I was watching a youtube tutorial where he pulls up the built in sketch “mirror” under “libraries > video > capture > mirror” and my webcam lights up for a few seconds before turning off, and video never appears on the screen. No errors are shown, no problem compiling, which makes it difficult to troubleshoot the problem.

System specs:
MacBook Pro 2019
OSX 10.14.6

I’d appreciate any points in the right direction because I don’t even know where to start. My first guess is an OS compatibility issue but don’t know what I would do to fix that.

edit:

I’ve since tried several sketches involving the webcam, and none work. Are there any known issues with it?

1 Like

Welcome to the sketches!

I’m on a 2015 Pro, never had a problem. If you’ve tried multiple sketches, it definitely sounds like a local issue. I’m just shooting in the dark at this point, but it might be a local security setting.

Does this in-browser sketch work for you?
https://p5js.org/examples/dom-video-capture.html

1 Like

It is most likely an issue with the version of gstreamer, the “old” library does not work with gstreamer-1.0+ which is what recent linux and presumably newer Mac have. There is beta version of video library available that supports gstreamer-1.0+, however you will need to modify your sketches to get them to work, might well work with test capture sketch though. Basically you have to name the Camera you are using. See Video library to use new GStreamer bindings and my JRubyArt example https://github.com/ruby-processing/JRubyArt-examples/blob/master/processing_app/library/video/capture/mirror.rb.

1 Like