Getting webcam to turn on with video library

Hi!

I’m still very new to processing, I haven’t used it in a while and I’ve changed computer since the last time I was experimenting with it.

I’m trying to get the built in webcam on my 2013 Macbook Pro Retina to show but it seems like I’m missing something.

I have used this code (and installed the video library properly):

import processing.video.*;

Capture video;

void setup() {
  size(640,240);
  video = new Capture(this, 320, 240);
  video.start();
}

void captureEvent(Capture video) {
  video.read();
}

void draw() {
  image(video, 0, 0);
}

The sketch runs and there are no errors but all I see is the canvas I set up at the right size but it stays grey. The light from my laptop’s camera doesn’t turn on so the camera is not being activated. I tested the camera and it works fine with Photobooth.

I have ran this code from the processing website as well:

import processing.video.*;

Capture cam;

void setup() {
  size(640, 480);

String[] cameras = Capture.list();

if (cameras.length == 0) {
    println("There are no cameras available for capture.");
    exit();
  } else {
    println("Available cameras:");
    for (int i = 0; i < cameras.length; i++) {
      println(cameras[i]);
    }

// The camera can be initialized directly using an 
    // element from the array returned by list():
    cam = new Capture(this, cameras[0]);
    cam.start();     
  }      
}

void draw() {
  if (cam.available() == true) {
    cam.read();
  }
  image(cam, 0, 0);
  // The following does the same, and is faster when just drawing the image
  // without any additional resizing, transformations, or tint.
  //set(0, 0, cam);
}

And the same thing happens, no errors in the console but just a blank canvas. The print function that is supposed to display the available cameras on the machine is apparently not doing anything (nothing show up in the console).