Updating processing and how to do it properly (removing old version while keeping projects)

Hi! I have a super simple question…

I saw this post from the old forum but had more questions. I am kinda new to processing (but not coding).

I currently have java processing 3.4 (revision 0265) but have not opened it in a very long time. I had a simple project idea I wanted to try out and now have been alerted that there is an update for version 3.5.4 revision 0270

However it seems like it takes me to a whole new download and theres no installer or anything like that I see. Just a zipped file for the executable for the new version. I would like to use the new version, but how do I safely remove the old version while keeping my existing projects safe? And how do I allow the new version to see these old projects? I assume they’re compatible?

Thank you all!

Hello,

Good question!

Before anything… back things up.

I always diligently back things up and have done so with Processing in the past and all the related files. I usually archive in a zip file with a name and date.

I have a few different versions of Processing co-existing and rename the folder with version number added to it.

I usually extract it to a custom folder that I call Program Portable:

And then rename it:

*** This (below) may not be necessary and including for reference ***

There is some stuff that is shared in the %AppData% folder in > Roaming > Processing folder that is shared between versions; I have backed this up (just in case) and deleted it in the past before a reinstall.

Your programs and libraries end up here (this may differ for you so check first):

And for the grand finale I add links to taskbar:

Disclaimer:
You assume all risk and liability for anything you do on your PC and I take no responsibility whatsoever. Back things up first!

There may be some official documentation somewhere… I did a quick search and did not find it.

Update:
Getting Started \ Processing.org

:)

2 Likes