Screen resolution hdpi confusion

Hello, semi noob here. I recently switched from a win10 1920x1080 laptop to an m1 MacBook. I made a lot of sketches with size(1080,1080) last year. these displayed nice on the hd screen, but with the MacBook apparently behaving as 1440x900 (and its actually a 2560x1600 screen?) I cannot preview the sketches properly + they look ugly as hell upscaled. now I read a bit about pixelDensity etc. but it’s still confusing the hell out of me… is there a simple way to just have the processing render being displayed as ‘true’ 1080x1080 on this screen? if possible, without really having to adapt the sketches? thanks!

Hi @fish233 ,

From the documentation of the pixelDensity() method :

This function is new with Processing 3.0. It makes it possible for Processing to render using all of the pixels on high resolutions screens like Apple Retina displays and Windows High-DPI displays. This function can only be run once within a program and it must be used right after size() in a program without a setup() and used within setup() when a program has one. The pixelDensity() should only be used with hardcoded numbers (in almost all cases this number will be 2) or in combination with displayDensity() as in the third example above.

So you can set it to 2 to use your HDPI display :yum:

void setup() {
  size(100, 100);
  pixelDensity(2);
}

void draw() {
  // ...
}

Hey @josephh , thanks for your reply! I just tested with an empty sketch.
both
void setup(){ size(900,900); };
and
void setup(){ size(900,900); pixelDensity(2); };
give the same window size over here… I’m really confused

edit: double checked with some old sketches, does not work over here :confused: pixelDensity(2) doesn’t change anything. could this be Big Sur/M1 related?

Ok yes this is confusing I admit, from the pixelWidth() documentation page :