Resources on programming for very beginners

Hi,

I am looking for resource on basic programming concepts, variables, functions, for loops and anything an absolute beginner needs to get started.

I teach Houdini at SVA and for next term I am thinking to use Processing to explain some fundamentals before going into how those are used within Houdini.

thank you
Georgios

2 Likes

Hello,

This is my cut and paste post for those new to Processing:

One of the best tools in a programmers tool chest is knowing the resources available to you and learning to navigate and use them.

This is a very short list:

Resources < Click here to expand !

I encourage you to review the resources available here:

There may be something of interest in there for you.

:)

3 Likes

Do have any preference for the Processing environment? (Java, JavaScript, Python, …)

That’s great, thank you for the quick response.
happycoding.io looks pretty good
=]

1 Like

Hello @ch3

Three resources for the absolute beginner I recommend:

1/ Abe Pazos’ playlist on youtube:

Starts with the most basic concepts and gradually builds, with very clear explanation.

2/ Khan Academy’s courses:

• Intro to JS: Drawing & Animation
  • Advanced JS: Games & Visualizations
  • Advanced JS: Natural Simulations

3/ the textbook “PROCESSING: An Introduction to Programming” by Jeffrey and Larry Nyhoff

This book was written for beginners and has excellent explanations of what the code is doing under the hood.

:nerd_face:

2 Likes

Khan academy, has a great programming section with code from Dan Shiffman too, and it provides a live coding environment and a community that answers questions.

Hi @debxyz,

Can you elaborate on “under the hood” in the context of this book?
Brings back memories of me taking the engine on my Ford Falcon apart and “reseating the valves”.

I know I often go into source to see how the Processing “helper functions” work “under the hood”: