Print Ordered Numbers in Program

hello anyone who reads this :smile:

i’m new to coding, i am trying to create things to practice coding, so i went to this page :

http://www.beginwithjava.com/java/loops/questions.html

because i saw that in processing, it is using java to write codes, so i looked at this site’s practice exercise to try to practice coding.

the first question is to print number from 1-10, i tried and failed, so i watched the solution, and pasted it in processing to see if it works, but it didn’t work - i don’t know what’s the problem…

so then i changed the codes according to my limited “knowledge” (barely can amount to claim this word) , and still doesn’t work…

i want to get through the question, but i am stuck at the first one…

i wonder if anyone can help me with solving this puzzle??

thank you in advance ^^

Hello,

There are some on-line java compilers.
This came up first in search:
https://www.tutorialspoint.com/compile_java_online.php

This is what Processing is (Wikipedia definition):

I would start here to understand the Processing environment:

Be sure to check out the tutorials.

And here:

You can print() to the console and write text() to the canvas; look in the Processing reference for these.

There are also many examples that come with the Processing PDE (IDE):

These are in File > Examples…

:)

3 Likes

Indeed Processing sketches become Java code just before they’re compiled when we hit the “Run” button (CTRL + R).

But notice that the default extension in Processing is “.pde” and not “.java”.

It means that its syntax is slightly diff. than Java’s, and it still needs some small behind-the-scenes changes in order to output a 100% fully compliant Java compilable code.

All the “.pde” files within a Processing’s IDE (PDE) project folder are concatenated as 1 file.

Then the PDE’s preprocessor transpiles that 1 single “.pde” to a “.java” file, wrapping up our whole code as 1 class that extends PApplet: