Please Introduce Yourself

Hello and welcome! Please share something about yourself. Who are you and why are you here? This is a tradition going back to the first Processing forum in 2002.

20 Likes

Hello, I’m Casey REAS. I’m an artist, educator, and co-founder of the Processing project with Ben Fry in 2001. I still work on Processing or the Processing Foundation nearly every day. I’m a professor in the Department of Design Media Arts at UCLA, where I’m also a part of the Conditional Studio. My work is documented at reas.com.

24 Likes

Hey, I’m Florian Jenett. I think I started using Processing somewhere around version 0.54 alpha when I was looking for a way to do graphical programming without having to wrestle with Java or C++ directly. I spent many hours (years?) on the various stages of the Processing forum. Helping other people there was the best way to learn the language. That led to me starting to teach Processing in 2007 at Hochschule Mainz where i’m now a professor for media informatics in the design department. My artistic work is documented here and some of my code is here.

18 Likes

Hi, I’m Jeremy Douglass. I am an (Assistant) Associate Professor of Digital Humanities at the Department of English at UC Santa Barbara, where I work on narrative in electronic literature, games, and comics, and on DH methodologies for software studies, platform studies, and critical code studies.