P5: converting examples into lessons/assignments

Hello, at the moment I’m working on a dutch project for art education specialized in new media.
I’m searching for new ideas to give art classes for students going to high school (7th - 10th grade).
During my searching I found P5. What a solution! There are so many examples where I could work with. My question is how can I convert the examples into lessons / assignments? I hope anyone can help me with it….

Really difficult question to answer! And I don’t think there is one unique solution…

It really depends on the goals of your class, how much time you get with the students, the kind of background the students have, if this is mandatory class or not…

From what you said, it feels that the students don’t necessarily have background in coding and that you also need to teach them art.

So what I would do, and I have no teaching background, would be to give a goal to achieve at the end of every lesson.

This goal would be an artistic output but constraint by some rules. Through those rules, you can train the student to some concept of coding.

You start with the basic and then you move on to more complex stuff and if something is really complicated, you can break it down in several lessons. You would still have an artistic output at every lesson but the next time, instead of starting from scratch again, you improve the previous result to complete the learning of that complex concept.

Though the year, you should give your student more and more freedom on what they can achieve so it will become less and less about the code and more and more about the expression of themselves. Because in the end, the code is just a tool for the developer as much as a brush is for the painter. You need to master the tool to be able to fully express yourself and give to the world what is in your own mind.

2 Likes

It depends on what the examples are, but from what I understand, a general approach is this: