Interaction + Processing question?

Hi! I’m new to processing and I’m working on a Kinect project. I’m trying to make my interactions with mouseX & Y first, so that I can then translate it over to the Kinect part.

I want to make my fish swim away from the mouse/ person’s silhouette movements interacting. (I’m thinking this is collision detection or blob tracking?)

Then, I want to make the bubbles follow the persons movement/ group near them, but still have other bubbles flow throughout the scene (I have another class for this group of bubbles).

I’m also trying to make it fullscreen. The sketch itself is full screen, but not the Kinect part… Any help would be much appreciated… thank you!

1 Like

Instead of sharing a snippet, share an MCVE that can be run.

Is the issue you are dealing with actually related to the Kinect in any way? It seems like perhaps you could ask this question for a mouse-based sketch just as well – lose the Kinect from the title, description, and make a simple sketch to explore the avoid behavior your are trying to create. Or am I misunderstanding?

Hi, I updated my code. I was thinking that if I did the mouse X&Y interactions, that it would be easier to translate over into Kinect since I’m having difficulty with both. The mouseX&Y interactions don’t necessarily have anything to do with the Kinect parts. Let me know if there is anything else I should add. Thanks!

Can you post the updated code here in a new response to your thread? Save your minimal sketch as a separate sketch. Keep in mind that it must run – your example is missing lots of classes etc., so there is no way to tell what it does or test it.

You might find this post relevant to your goal:

Steering Behaviors - Obstacle Avoidance - #7 by jeremydouglass

Your current post have three different questions. I recommend you keep on question per post so each question gets a proper deserved answer.