How to select the right computer specs for a full time digital art installation using Processing?

I like to make permanent art installations that use Processing. Think museums or even a few weeks at an art gallery.

A lot of the time they are fairly graphical and involve cameras, projectors, and other screens.

My question is around how to best determine what is the best computer to use for an installation like this?

Let us keep it in the Windows 10 PC world for sake of this conversation.

As a novice I have found a simple rule to be that the more expensive the CPU, GPU, and Memory, the better the performance it can yield. This has generally been true but I would like to have a better understanding because it would be nice to save money.

I find a lot of the time when making these interactive, projection based, games is that the frame rate can really lag if I get a lot of instances of a particular piece of the game in there or try to run at a high resolution.

I know one way would be to perhaps optimize the code but let us pretend for this question that it is already as dialed as can be and I am looking to optimize the hardware instead.

For instance, with memory. What if Processing could only ever use 16 GB and therefore having 64 GB installed does not help anything? Is there a limit? Will any given sketch be able to take advantage of it?

Or, I notice that other languages allow for specifying multi-threaded CPU code and the like. I am not aware that Processing does this. So perhaps a similar situation. What if Processing only can ever make use of 4 cores and therefore any CPU processor that has more than 4 cores is not useful in allowing the sketch to run faster or smoother?

Similar line of though with a GPU. How can I determine if a more expensive one can actually help?