GSOC 2019 : Improve Friendly Error System (FES) and documentation

Hello everyone ! I am Ajay Neethi Kannan , and I am studying Computer Science in Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee. I am extremely interested in working with the processing foundation this summer.

I have been contributing to p5.js and the p5.js-website since January, and it has been and is an amazing experience. I have developed a good understanding of the library during this time, and I am confident that I can implement the features suggested below.

I have explored the projects of this year, and I have become interested in the Friendly Error System. The Friendly Error System
is designed to help beginners to identify the errors in their code easily and rectify them .I am very inspired by it’s one of a kind nature and its logic,
and would love to make it better.

Currently, the components of the Friendly Error System are ,

• validateParameters : helps in checking the parameters passed to functions in the library, and printing easily understandable messages to debug them.
  • friendlyFileLoadError : helps when a file fails to load correctly.
  • friendlyGlobalFunctionBinder : prints friendly messages when an user attempts to override any global functions defined by the library unknowingly.

I would like to improve upon its functionality , here are some of my ideas :

(The implementation details given below do not represent the final code changes , and I will be able to provide more insight on the implementation part with your feedback and help in the proposal)

IMPROVEMENTS TO EXISTING FES:

1. Improve the readability of validateParameters function :
In the present state, whenever the validateParameters function detects that the arguments passed to the function do not match any of the formats
in which the function takes the arguments (overloads) , it raises a message like

p5.js says: color() was expecting Number for parameter #0 (zero-based index),
received string instead at (file_location)