Error during download and install of <library.name>

Hi,

I am a beginner and I am starting small - like - how to install a library. I run Processing 3.5.3 and using Menu - Import Library - Add Library. I am getting the following error: Error during download and install of … and here you can add any library name. I tried several and libraries and Ani, ColorScheme and ComputationalGeometry loaded but others like Combinatorics, Free Transform, GenerativeDesign, Image processing algorithms, ImageLoader, etc will not load.

What i am doing wrong?

I am mostly interested in GenerativeDesign (i got the book for it so of course i want to try their examples and see if i can understand them) and ImageLoader.

I also search the topics for this error - but it seems i could not find it.

Thanks,
Monica

1 Like

if you talk about this

i use the contribution manager

/Tools / Add Tool / Libraries /

in some cases it needs to restart the PDE.

but then can find in examples the related for this new installed library,
best way to start,
play/test all
save the one you like “save as” into your sketchbook
and start from there.

if you not know processing, and not know a library
it is nearly impossible to start from a empty page with

import this_new_library.*;

again, have fun with the examples…

and also find

/ Help / Library Reference / …

after you installed one.

1 Like

Hi,

Yes, i tried to restart Processing. But for the GenerativeDesign library for example i have sample code and the book, so if i can install this library, theoretically i should be able to run the sample code. From there i can change params and see how the result changes. And so, even if maybe it is not very conventional - i can learn more about processing.

So, the problem is that i cannot install some libraries through the software menu. I am getting this error:

Error during download and install of GenerativeDesign