Blind Student & Screen Reader with IDE

Hello all. I am a college professor of an introduction to computers class. I have used Processing to give my students a taste of coding without overwhelming them with too much syntax, but to dip their feet in the baby pool so to speak. They do about four activities with Processing. This semester, I will have a student who is visually impaired/blind. I have a few questions that I hope people might be able to help. 1. Can the Processing IDE be used by a screen reader or JAWS (Job Access With Speech) software. 2. Would processing be the right programming language for my student? 3. If not Processing, are there other programming IDE recommendations for beginners that is screen reader compatible? Thank you for the help.

2 Likes

Hey @squascha21! I wish i had a better answer to your specific questions, but unfortunately, I’m not experienced with that. Correct me if i’m misreading, but it sounds like the class is a general computers class, not specifically an intro to programming, and the Processing is just a way to experience one of the many things the students can do with the machines? Having worked in Disability Services at a college for a while, years back, my experience was mostly transcribing for Deaf, hearing impaired, learning disabled, or brain injured students. So i don’t have specific Blind/visually impaired experience.

I can say, if there’s a low-vision or a cognitive processing issue, font choice can help, as well as foreground/background changes. Obviously, each student will find different fonts easy to read. Amusingly, a few students i worked with really preferred a larger Comic Sans. They’ll know what works for them.