Time line without Flash

Hi,

I have basic knowledge of programming. After doing a bit of research, it looks like the timeline shown in this link can be done in HTML, Canvas, JS,… (without adobe flash).

I would very much appreciate if you would give me some help.

Regards

Thiru

1 Like

Good day Thiru,

My experience with p5 is limited, so aside from giving you advice on how to approach the project and get things rolling I can’t be of much help unfortunately. Once you’re a bit further with your project however and have code to share, I’m certain there are more than enough smartypants out here who are willing to answer your questions.

Whenever you’re trying to tackle something that’s still a bit too complicated for you (seeing you mentioned you have a basic understanding of programming), bring it to your level by breaking it up in smaller, simplified parts. For instance:

• Write a ‘basic’ program (I suggest using the p5 Web Editor for this) which contains a few of the elements you want to use, such as a 2D timeline, text, images and buttons. It doesn’t have to be pretty at this point, just try to get it functional.
  • Having trouble with certain elements? Go through the p5 reference and p5 learn pages and see if you can gather relevant information for your problem.
  • Set up and HTML file and try to display your basic program in there.

Little by little your experience and understanding grows, and from there you extend. So once your basic program is functional and it works properly in a web browser, try adding functionalities to gradually improve it, such as hover effects, animations, and a 3D timeline.

Hope this was the type of guidance you were looking for. Good luck!

2 Likes

:wink:

Chrisir

Whoopsie-daisy, smartypants gives a negative ring to it. Unintended :joy:

1 Like

No apologies necessary!!!

1 Like