Teacher looking for advice on Mobile App Development with p5.js or Processing for Android

Hello!

I am a US teacher planning to teach Mobile App Development. I had planned to use Processing for Android but had to change my plans due to COVID-19, and I am running into difficulties with p5.js.

I have two questions, and answering either one with a yes would solve my problem.

1. Is there a way to create actual mobile apps in p5.js?
  2. Is there a way to use Processing for Android with a Chromebook?

Everything we do for class has to be able to be done in a Chromebook in case we have to go virtual again. This required me to change my plan of using Processing for Android (download only, as far as I can tell) on the school desktop computers.

However, it seems that the only option to run a p5.js sketch on mobile is either to connect to the p5.js IDE over shared WiFi or download Node.js to use localtunnel. Chromebooks canā€™t download anything, and Iā€™m concerned that the first option will cause problems when kids are on the school WiFi. Also, when trying to find the port number for my sketch, I canā€™t find it. Iā€™ve looked where the tutorial (https://creative-coding.decontextualize.com/mobile/) says, and even looked in the Developer Tools in Chrome.

Any ideas?

Is this because it has a managed school ID?

Itā€™s just what the school told us: everything has to be in a browser.

I actually have come up with an alternate solution that I think will work, but Iā€™d still love to hear suggestions in the vein of my original questions.

@MaggieStrain ===

• You can make js ā€œresponsiveā€ apps with p5JS for mobile, i have done that but it is not at all simple ( i can give you a giuide line for that)
  • as for your second question i finally decided to code with Dreamweaver: when you launch ā€œpreview in browserā€ it shows the result of your code of course on local side.

Interesting! I havenā€™t taught mobile app development with p5.js but it seems doable.