Stop while (myPort.available() > 0)

Hi, beginner here, so please be gentle :slight_smile:

I am trying to stop a while look if a timer runs out (millis(). But I just cannot find a way of doing it.
What I am trying to do is if a certain string is not received before the timer reaches the target time, I want it to get out of the while loop. I tried all I can to my knowledge, and also searched online. No answer found, perhaps i didn’t search the correct words :frowning:

So, here is my current code. The variable “DumpActive” is set true by a button.

The line println(“Dump Aborted”); is displayed if there is data transfer from the Arduino, It shouldn’t. When data didn’t start flowing, and the time is up, this line should be displayed, and the while loop exited.
Thank you.

if (DumpActive) {

myPort.write("RequestEEprom");
    myPort.write('\n');

while (myPort.available() > 0) {

inData = myPort.readStringUntil('\n');
      if (inData != null) {
        inData = inData.trim();

if ("END".equals(inData)) {
          SerialCheck = true;
          EEpromReceived = true;
        }
        if (!SerialCheck) {
          EepromData[SlotCount] = inData;
          //  println(inData);
        }

inData = "";
        if (SlotCount > 16383) SlotCount = 0;
        SlotCount = SlotCount + 1;
      }
       if (TimerDump + 4000 < millis()) {         
         if(inData == null) {
           DumpActive = false;
          SerialCheck = true;
          println("Dump Aborted");
         }
       }
      if (SerialCheck) {

SlotCount = 0;
        SerialCheck = false;
        DumpActive = false;

AquireData();
      }
    }
  }

Hi @jhsa, For escaping a loop use break. Hope this code makes it obvious. Note the ++ as well, you need that.

int x = 0;

while (true){
  print(x); print(" ");
  if (x >= 10) {
    break;
  }
  x++;
}

Thanks, I tried using break; on the loop above, but it doesn’t work. that is a serial receiving loop.
Perhaps I am overlooking something…

JoĂŁo