Help with serial communication

Hi,
First post. I’m an intermediate level programmer but relatively new to Processing. I have a Processing program on my desktop that sends a sequence of commands to an Arduino board by the serial port (actually a Teensy 3.6, but I dont’ think that matters.) The Arduino, upon receiving the commands, executes a series of further commands to stepper motors and servos. Depending upon the state of the servo/stepper machine and the commands, execution time is variable.

I have had no difficulty with sending commands to the Arduino and having them execute correctly. However, I’m trying to write a method that uses stacked commands-- send first mechanical command, let it finish executing, then send the second command, let it finish executing, etc. On the Arduino side, I’d write code that sent the Processing sketch some form of “finished message” when mechanical execution was complete, and I could then proceed to the second command. I thought that if I wrote code along the lines of

sendFirstCommand();
while (myPort.available()==0) {
} //loops until it receives data from Arduino
sendSecondCommand();

I understand that the while loop can be problematic in that it can be blocking, but I really don’t have a better idea. I also thought that if I were querying the serial port to test for termination conditions, that it would force an update. I’ve been able to get the stacked commands to work by using a delay() call instead of the while loop, where the delay() parameter is the longest time it would realistically take for the mechanics to execute. Feels a bit heavyhanded and not portable. When no delay is inserted, the second command is simply lost.

Feels like there is something simple I’m missing… Help would be appreciated.
Thank you.

2 Likes