RPi, camera module and face detection – possible?

Hello,

I just started out playing with Processing on macOS but ultimately I’d like to use Raspberry Pi for a bunch of potential projects. One idea is to use a camera module and face detection to drive visualisations beamed to multiple monitors (via HDMI splitters).

However, upon reading this and other forums, it seems not that straightforward, with compatibility issues, unmaintained libraries etc.

Could you let me know how easy it is to use Processing on RPi and how feasible is this platform for stuff like image analysis and general audio-visual work? I’d prefer not to have to hack too deep into RPi system to be able to run things as I’m a designer and would rather invest my limited programming skills and time into something that works and has a potential.

So, a more detailed questions:
– Does Processing work on newest RPis?
– Would installing Linux on RPi4 be better in the long run?
– Can I use OpenCV on RPi for face detection/tracking on camera feed or is there another library?
– Do you know of any multimedia/audio-visual/generative art projects driven by RPis/Processing?

Thank you!
Alex

1 Like

Hi @figle,

Welcome to the forum! :wink:

Looking at the Getting started page on the Processing for pi website, it looks like it’s supported on rpi 2, 3 and 3+. I don’t see why it shouldn’t work on a raspberry pi 4. Also the rpi 4 is much more powerful and seems adapted if you want to do sound/visual interactive work with some computation.

The download link provided on the rpi processing website is actually a Raspbian OS with Processing installed. Most of the supported OSes are UNIX based and I think that there’s a Windows Iot something but Linux is the way to go! You can check them here: The Top 23 Operating Systems for Raspberry Pi in 2023

Yes I think so, it’s listed in the technical page

For projects using RPis, maybe someone can provide some links :wink:

1 Like