Processing 3 text editor running slow

I recently installed processing 3.5.3 on a raspberry pi 4 with 4gb RAM. It is running the newest version of Raspbian.

I am having issues where the text editor runs so slowly that it will temporarily freeze every time I finish typing or try to move the text cursor.

I tried updating the amount of ram the program uses, and changing how much of the ram is used for GPU. Neither of these things seem to have fixed the issue.

I am relatively new to this, so if you have some questions to help figure out the issue, feel free to ask and I can hopefully get back to you.

Hi and welcome.

The processing ide has a built in error checker which checks what you type. Sometimes on large files this causes it to freeze, try disabling it, or perhaps I could suggest visual studio code, which has the ability to compile the processing code.

Paulgoux,

I do know that turning this feature off does cause the issue, but I do find it to be incredibly useful, especially being still somewhat new to coding.

The weird thing about it is that it still causes the freezes on files that only have 6 lines of code and one import.

Would visual studio code offer that type of debugging on a raspberry pi?

I use intelliJ IDEA on my main laptop and really enjoy the debugging as I code, but I’m not entirely sure if I would be able to export from intelliJ to processing.

Thanks for your help so far!

this is the environment that visual studio code provides. You’ll benefit from code completion for functions variables and variable types, which is nice, and a better tab system as well as being able to download addons, and autosave on compile. The default compile method is slightly slower but considering the advantages its a reasonable tradeoff.