New Library - VLCJVideo

Hello again.
I bring a VLCJ binding for Processing, based on the previous work by Oleg Sidorov.
It was a 2 days work. That means the original library is awesome :star_struck: and I only had to update the code to the latest VLCJ version.
I did it with a lot of help from direct.java and headless.java examples, and it’s working (with more luck than wisdom from me).
The point is I’m no expert on VLCJ (in fact I first saw it 2 days ago) and maybe I’m doing all wrong. Is there someone who knows something to review this code?

Happy New Year to all!

3 Likes

Good work! VLCJ is a great library. But please fix your license notice to be GPL!

Sorry, I don’t think I can do it. The original code is LGPL.

You can do (because LGPL can always become GPL) and have to (because VLCJ itself is GPL).

From Frequently Asked Questions about the GNU Licenses - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation

It would be nice to try out the LGPL on each library for a while, see whether it helps, and change back to the GPL if the LGPL didn’t help. But this is not feasible. Once we use the LGPL for a particular library, changing back would be difficult.

Beside, I’m not the library original owner. I don’t have the right to change license.

If the LGPL original license is illegal for some reason, we should call a lawyer. :nerd_face:

As per LGPL - GNU Lesser General Public License v3.0 - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation

you may convey a copy of the modified version:
…
b) under the GNU GPL, with none of the additional permissions of this License applicable to that copy.

Yes it is and no we shouldn’t. You should just alter the license file to respect the license of VLCJ - GitHub - caprica/vlcj: Java framework for the vlc media player You could decide to keep the existing license header on the source code you have added / modified, but the overall license of your library is GPL … period!