Load .obj Model with mtl file and jpg texture

Hey Guys,

i need some help with loading and 3D Model stored as .obj with an .mtl File and an jpg texture. With loadModel() I only get the mesh loaded and displayed, but the texture isn’t loaded.
If I also load the Texture with loadImage() and the set the texture on the model, it displays it but not on the correct positions.

So someone here has an idea ?

Did you ever find the solution for this? I’m having the same issue with the UVs for the texture. :slight_smile:

Have you tried a matrix transform on the texture, if it can be loaded, then matrix should be able to transform it in any way you want. Alternatively you can code the transformation yourself.

1 Like

Thanks for your answer! :slight_smile: I’m sorry, I’m new to p5.js and I don’t quite understand how I should transform the texture to solve my issue.

I should have posted this with my question above, but here is the model and texture I’ve tried:
https://editor.p5js.org/wolfj/sketches/9gaVV0VUz

The texture() function seems to ignore the UV data (texture coordinates) from the OBJ file and just wrap it around the model in an arbitrary way. As you can see the face is rendered to the model’s neck, the tail texture ends up on its torso and so on.

Is there an easy way to access the correct info from the model via the p5 library or would I have to read the info from the OBJ file myself and remap the texture using WebGL directly?

I’m sorry if this is a very noob question. I come from using 3D software and engines like Unreal and Unity, so I’ve never been confronted with this issue before. I might have totally misunderstood your answer as well.

I can’t post detailed code ATM my comp is being repaired, but here’s the gist

push()
translate(x,y);
rotate(x,y);
scale(x,y);
pop();

Here’s the link to the reference
https://p5js.org/reference/#/p5/push
Always remember to close a push()