Keep It Simple: From Ambitious Project to Simple Prototype as a p5js Newbie

I’m not a coder. I’m more of an ethnomusicologist, a technopedagogue, an ethnographer, and a Learning Experience Designer.

Really, not a coder.

Although I have dabbled in code for quite a while (from BASIC on a ViC-20 in the early 1980s and a bit of C in the mid-1990s all the way to Sonic Pi, PureData, SuperCollider, ChucK, Jupyter, Max, etc.).
In other words, I’m an eternal newbie. And I like it that way.

As a “testimonial”, I want to share that p5js has allowed me to get a working prototype of something very simple that I should be able to use in a broad project I have about “Inclusive Learning through Music Technology”.

Here’s the p5js project, at this point.

(I mean to share it as Public Domain Dedication though I’m not sure where to apply licenses through the site.)

It’s just a simple grid of buttons which play notes. The layout I’m using is rather common: Novation Launchpad, Linnstrument, GeoShred, Ableton Push, ROLI Lightpad, etc. It’s the same as the strings on a bass (and the first four strings on a guitar). Unlike a piano-style keyboard, a given pattern will play the same anywhere (so, it’s “isomorphic”). Once you’ve learnt the shape of a chord, for instance, you can play it on any note. In my experience as a saxophone player who’s taken piano lessons, I’ve learnt way more quickly with such a layout than with piano-style keyboards. (And, as an ethnomusicologist, I decry what I call “pianocentrism”.)

There are other layouts possible and exploring those is part of the overall project.

The buttons (pads) are highlighted based on the scale you choose. You can expand the number of rows and/or columns (though it doesn’t scale back, at this point). As simple as it sounds, I find this kind of thing really useful in helping diverse people learn a few simple concepts about music.

Keyword: simple.