Java SE and installing for 64-bit OSX

Hi, I am a newbie to the forum but have some working experiences with processing™

I just wanted to know what Apple Mac is using to replace Java virtual machine, I was asked to install latest version of Java SE 15.0 but I have always been running my processing sketches on this MBP for awhile, I didn’t realize to install Java Web start or VM, anyone know if that if Java SE is 64-bit?

ThxQ

Yes, Java SE is 64-bit
Java Web Start is unfortunately deprecated since Java 9 and has been removed in Java 11
Processing brings the Java 1.8.0 Update 202 JVM (→ Java 8) out of the box (At least on my Windows PC)

As I don’t use Apple products I don’t know what they are trying to do but Java is probably going to stay being available for MacOS.

Java SE 15.0 (→ Java 5) was released in 2004 and got (public) security updates until 2009. I wouldn’t advise you using Software needing a version of Java that old.

Thanks, that’s not too good when the Java SE is more than 10 years. I see I didn’t have to install Java on Apple is becasue it might have been using Java Runtime Environment (JRE) or Java 6 or above in pre-installed on OSX sufficiently enough for running Processing IDE.

I have installed a version of Java JDK on my Windows 7/8/10. I will look through Java documentation for a newest version of the Java on the Mac. If there is any, thank you for clearing that up.

Best,
NYJ

What / who asked you to do this?

Keep in mind that if you are using the Processing IDE, it comes with its own version of Java already built-in to PDE – you do not need to install, change, or upgrade any system Java, either for Mac or Windows. PDE comes with the right Java, batteries included.