Is Minim's FFT non-deterministic?

I’m trying to create a music visualizer that takes a song and outputs an image.

I’m very new to this, and I’ve been trying to understand FFT. I put together this sketch:

import ddf.minim.*;
import ddf.minim.analysis.*;
import ddf.minim.effects.*;
import ddf.minim.signals.*;
import ddf.minim.spi.*;
import ddf.minim.ugens.*;

Minim minim;
FilePlayer player;
AudioOutput out;
FFT fft;

float x = 0;

void setup() {
  size(1024, 300);

minim = new Minim(this);

player = new FilePlayer(minim.loadFileStream("song.mp3"));
  out = minim.getLineOut();
  player.patch(out);

fft = new FFT(1024, player.sampleRate());
  player.play();

background(32);
}

void draw() {
  stroke(255);
  fill(255);

x += .075;

fft.forward(out.mix);
  float[] f =   fft.getSpectrumReal();
  float y = height / 2 + average(f) * 100;
  line(x, height / 2, x, y);
}

float average(float[] array) {
  float a = 0;
  for (float f : array) {
    a += f;
  }
  a /= array.length;
  return a;
}

This sketch plays a song and draws lines based on the average value returned by fft.getSpectrumReal();.

I’m not saying this is pretty or even makes any sense, but I just wanted to get something working.

What I’m surprised by is that if I run the same sketch multiple times using the same song, I get different results each time.

It’s hard to see in the above images, so here they are flipping back and forth:

If I run it a third time, I get a third slightly different result. This might not seem like a big deal, but my goal is to create a reproducible result, and more importantly I’d like to understand why this is happening.

I thought this might be because the song is playing at a different rate than the frame rate, so I tried adding this to the setup function:

player.setSampleRate(60);

But that appears to have no effect.