How to UDP broadcast?

I’m new in network programming. I want to broadcast UDP message. I installed the UDP library from Stephane Cousot and found following code:

import hypermedia.net.*;

UDP udp;  // define the UDP object

/**
 * init
 */
void setup() {

// create a new datagram connection on port 6000
  // and wait for incomming message
  udp = new UDP( this, 6000 );
  //udp.log( true ); 		// <-- printout the connection activity
  udp.listen( true );
}

//process events
void draw() {;}

/** 
 * on key pressed event:
 * send the current key value over the network
 */
void keyPressed() {

String message  = str( key );	// the message to send
    String ip       = "localhost";	// the remote IP address
    int port        = 6100;		// the destination port

// formats the message for Pd
    message = message+";\n";
    // send the message
    udp.send( message, ip, port );

}

// void receive( byte[] data ) { 			// <-- default handler
void receive( byte[] data, String ip, int port ) {	// <-- extended handler

// get the "real" message =
  // forget the ";\n" at the end <-- !!! only for a communication with Pd !!!
  data = subset(data, 0, data.length-2);
  String message = new String( data );

// print the result
  println( "receive: \""+message+"\" from "+ip+" on port "+port );
}

Using the sample code, I was able to send message to my IP and port and receive response. But if I don’t know the IP and want to broadcast the request. How do I do that?
Thanks in advance.

Phuoc

You don’t have to know the specific IP but you at least have to know the IP subnet it belongs to.

I’m new in network programming.
A word of advice. Read up on the subject so you have a general understanding of how IP networking works. Using your own local network only effects you. However, flinging data packets around a public network is generally frowned upon and can get you into trouble with network administrators.