Help with starting a coding project

Hello,

I’m new to programming, and my objectives are easy to explain: I’m interested in designing a simple program in Sketch that illustrates a user interface that is easy to understand, uses a true or false condition to flip a coin where heads shows one picture and tails shows another picture. I’m overwhelmed about how to begin this project.

I keep reading examples, tutorials, and other learning resources, which are interesting, but I’m still confused with how to develop the program. If there’s someone who could assist me or recommend a tutorial explaining how to create a simple program like I’m a little kid (I’m not being sarcastic), I would appreciate the help.

Hi @NationalRex22

It is great you are starting with programming. My suggestion is to explore the examples that comes with Processing. Can you run the examples there? You can access this examples easily from the Processing IDE. You just need to go to File >> Examples... If you check the examples, it is very likely one of those examples could be a good starting point for your project. If you find one that you like, you can make a copy of the folder and then you can start adding code to modify the example to your need. Another page to explore would be Examples / Processing.org

You can also try The Coding Train Channel by Daniel Shiffman where he explains different coding concepts from scratch.

For your project, I suggest you become familiar with keyPressed(), PImage and random() as explained in the Reference. How familiar are you with these functions? The first task is to get two images of your like and display them in the sketch. The second task is to click on one of the images to show or hide it. The third step is to use a random function to simulate coin flipping: heads shows the image(s) and tail hides it(them). After you are done these three steps, you can evaluate what you would like to add next. Sounds doable?