GSoC'22 Proposal Review - Examples Algorithms

Hello Potential Mentors,

My name is Nathaniel Sullivan and I am a sophomore software engineering student at ASU. I have been interested GSoC for a while because of it’s ability to give students experience and connect them with amazing open source organizations like Processing. My love for coding first started by watching Daniel Shiffman’s coding challenge videos on YouTube and so when I was looking through all of the organizations in GSoC and saw Processing, I knew I had to get involved.

One of the things I noticed early on in programing with p5.js was how nice it was when one of my questions was answered through the examples. Another one of the hardest things for me as I was learning to code was understanding data structures and algorithms. For this reason I would like to propose the creation of a new example section entitled Algorithms. This section would contain a time and space complexity comparison of sorts, the existing examples of Quick Sort and Bubble Sort as well as more sorting algorithms including:

• Selection Sort
  • Insertion Sort
  • Merge Sort
  • Recursive Sorts
  • Possibility for many more

I believe by creating working examples of these algorithms as well as explaining their relative time and space complexities, p5.js will be able to provide more access to the skills and understanding needed in effective coding.

This is just a start of an idea and I would love any and all feedback on my idea as well as on how to go through with a proposal.

Thank you. I look forward to a response,
Nathaniel Sullivan

1 Like