GSoC 2019: p5py ideas and improvements

Hello everyone!
My name is Lev, and I love Processing! I have been working with it for almost 3 years, but I never got a chance to contribute to this project, and I am very interested in doing so. In particular, I was looking into its native Python port - p5py. Although Processing.py provides great API too, it has some limitations, which I hope we can overcome with p5py. Some things I think I can solve are:

• Implementing some missing functionality regarding fonts, images, and shapes (as well as fixing some bugs)
  • Improving documentation, wiki, creating a guide for contributors as well as adding more examples
  • doing any necessary refactoring and optimization

I also have an idea of a tool for converting between Processing.py sketches and p5py sketches (since they are not compatible), which I think would be useful for those who often create Processing sketches on Python. It can either be a standalone tool are a compatibility mode of some kind.

I have a strong knowledge of both Processing framework and Python language, so I hope my skills will be useful. Please, let me know what you think! Any suggestions are welcome!

1 Like

Implementing some missing functionality regarding fonts, images, and
shapes (as well as fixing some bugs)

Some of this was added during last year’s GSOC already (see release
notes: https://p5.readthedocs.io/en/latest/releasenotes/0.5.0.html).
The issues we’d like to prioritize for this year’s GSOC have been
listed here:
https://github.com/processing/processing/wiki/Project-List#-native-python-and-processing-priority

I also have an idea of a tool for converting between Processing.py
sketches and p5py sketches (since they are not compatible), which I
think would be useful for those who often create Processing sketches
on Python. It can either be a standalone tool are a compatibility
mode of some kind.

That’s a very good idea! A tool like that would be very interesting to