Cellular Automata based on pixelated images

Dear everyone, I am a newbie to processing. As I proceeds, I am very interested in the thinking of Cellular Automata (part of lesson from The Nature of Code by Daniel Shiffman).

I really want to create a version based on pixelate images that have the same rule as “Nested”: each pixelated (b/w) Images (consist of X pixels) can be zoom out and turns into 1 single cell, and further zoom out will be another image that again become a cell when zoom out? And vice versa with zooming in. It is like the game of eternal images when you scrolls in mouse, but base on a cell = fake 1 pixel.

I hope I made it clear? I already have image that are pixelated, but I wonder how can I proceed? How can processing generate an image in to numbers of pixel (its already does)but how do we control the pixel and assign to it a task and behavior?

thank you so much!

1 Like

this kind of question are not easy to answer.

-a- why you not link to what you are talking about ? this?
https://natureofcode.com/book/chapter-7-cellular-automata/

-b- you say you have code and images ?
can you post here and show?

-c- based on your code ( project status ) what would you like to do next?

2 Likes

Sounds do-able.

1 keep and array of images the size of your pixel field.
2 code the game of life.
3 implement a zooming mechanism which triggers a function in setup to reset the grid and base its new values on the image found in that array for that particular cell.

Things to keep in mind, if you’re keeping an array of images how is it managed, ie is it a 1d array a 2d array or a 3d array.

If its a 1d or 2d array the array would probably need to be shuffled everytime you zoom in or out or have some other method of avoiding the issue of zooming on the same square, which would lead to you just entering the same grid again. This comes at the cost of not having any predictability, but also means it would essentially be infinite.