VIDEO IP (NewTek NDI)

Hi ! Is there any new solutions for ip video in Processing 3 ?
I know the good library “ip capture” but only for receiving video, is there now the possibility to integrate the very good new tech NDI in processing for exemple ?
A library for that ? If not, how can I make that ? I’m not a professional programmer…
Thanks !

Are you saying that you want to broadcast IP video from a Processing sketch? From what – like a laptop webcam, or broadcasting your sketch canvas as a video stream? Can you explain more what you are trying to do, specifically?

Hi , thank you for replying !
For example :

1. On stage, I have a computer with connected webcams that use “Resolume” software for the image processing and send in live the video on the network via the very good NDI protocol !

2. In back stage (at 20meters), in an other computer, I would directly take this video on my Processing Sketch to make my effect and sending that on an other “Resolume” via Syphon protocol and launch that on my projector !

I tried to use NDI2Syphon > Processing > Syphon > Resolume … too much syphons… my computer crashed…

I know there is a NDI library on OpenFrameWorks… but in Processing ? My sketch is too long for remaking that on C++…

And if it’s not possible to find this library or to make this (how?), I can replace “Resolume” on the first computer by a Processing sketch but how can I send the video on the network in order to take it on the processing in the second computer on backstage ?

Thx very much !

Possibly related past discussions:

I’m not sure what this means? Do you mean that you are running parallel syphons, or that you are pushing too many pixels and have bandwidth / RAM problems?

If you want Java bindings for the Newtek NDI SDK perhaps check out Devolay. A new release came out just a few days ago.

1 Like

Try this:

A sender sketch and a receiver sketch both in Processing.
Based on Daniel Shiffmans Streaming Video on udp example.