Uploading a text file to a server/URL

Hi!
Before we start this: I have zero knowledge of webprogramming whatsoever. Sounds like this is going to be fun? Great! :stuck_out_tongue: Ok but honestly: I don’t know how complicated my question really is and whether it is to much to ask on a forum like this, so be prepared, I guess? :sweat_smile:
I am in the process of writing a programm that outputs a .txt file and uploads it to a location on the internet. This file should be read by another programm which then displays the information in the wanted format. I have done everything to prepare for step 2 (step 1 and 3 completed). Both programms are written in Processing - the first in Java mode, the second one in android mode. I don’t know anything about P5.js or javaScript in general, but would be willing to get into that if necessary and given the right instructions.
What I believe to know:

1. I will need to rent/buy a domain or something that allows me to create a URL linked to a .txt file which can be manipulated my Processing
  2. Processing is probably not the best place to do this in lol

Okay, so to summarize my problem:
I need to know how to upload/edit an existing text file somewhere on the internet. Preferably a place that can be used by loadStrings(URL);.

I am thankful for any kind of answer!

What you’re talking about I think would be best accomplished by server side programming. There’s this idea of an api that’s kind of hard to explain. I would suggest checking out Dan Shiffman’s video series on the topic. It mostly about working with node.js and p5.js but I think a lot of it could be applied to a setup with Processing.

if you make the file locally you could try upload it with FTP,
search for “processing FTP upload”
( i never play with that )