Trying to play one random video after another in one screen

Hello!

I’m fairly new to programming and for my graduation project I’m trying to create a sketch on p5js that plays one random video after another from an array of videos.
I can’t seem to figure out the way to play the videos in one screen within the image() function. It seems to not accept the random video as a variable.
Here is the sketch:
https://editor.p5js.org/pelinkiliboz/sketches/fR2roIRaQ
Any help would be much appreciated!

1 Like

Can’t open your link…

I wonder why, it seems to open for me.
I’ll add the code here, though you would need the videos to run it.
And here’s a duplicate, hopefully this one will open:
https://editor.p5js.org/pelinkiliboz/sketches/2BLaVfa5J

var vid0;
var vid1;
var vid2;
var videos = [];
var vid = videos[Math.floor(Math.random() * videos.length)];

function preload() {

vid0 = createVideo('vid0.mp4');
  vid0.size(640,480);
  vid1 = createVideo('vid1.mp4');
  vid1.size(640,480);
  vid2 = createVideo('vid2.mp4'); 
  vid2.size(640,480);
} 

function setup() {

createCanvas(640, 480);

}function playNextVideo() {

videos = [vid0, vid1, vid2];   

var vid =  videos[Math.floor(Math.random() * videos.length)];

vid.play();

vid.onended(function() {
      playNextVideo();
             });  

}                     

function draw() {

playNextVideo();
  image(vid, 0, 0, 640, 480);

}
2 Likes

I could open it fine and it looks like you’ve got the basic framework in place!

I think you’re problem is in the timing of events. When you say var vid = videos[Math.floor(Math.random() * videos.length)]; that line will run before preload, setup, and draw. Which means that it can’t find any videos in the videos array so vid will be set to undefined. I can’t say for sure but I think that’s what’s causing your problem.