There is a delay when i use keypressed() to change value

Hi all! I am a newbie of processing. I find that the keyPressed() can’t change the value directly until the all codes in draw() are executed for one time.
Like my example below,I want to use keyPressed() function to change the value of b(then I print b)
but the b’s value changes only after the delay() in draw().
Then how could I change the b’s value directly when I press some key?
Thank you for your help!

The processing:

void setup() {
  size(200, 200);
  b=0;
}

void keyPressed() {
  if (keyCode == LEFT)
      b+=1;
      print("\nkeyb="+b);  
}

void draw() {
  delay(5000);
   print("\ndrawb="+b);
}

I can’t imagine ANY situation in which putting a call to delay() in draw() makes any sense. First of all, remove that call. Then try telling us what you hope to accomplish. Do you only want to update and redraw your scene every 5 seconds? If so, then delay() is not even the right function for that. Try being creative with millis() instead.

The reason why that happens is because both draw() and keyPressed() are run sequentially on a single thread. keyPressed() is processed only as soon as draw() finishes, which you noticed.

The reason it’s done that way is because else there could be some code problems, from little frustrations on what happens, to complex threading problems no sane programmer would want to deal with.

For example, let’s say that your draw() is this:

void draw(){
  println("New draw cycle");
  if(b==2){ println("b==2"); }
  delay(5000);
  if(b==2){ println("b==2"); }
}

Notice that the first and third lines are exactly the same, both check if b==2.
Now, if keyPressed() would be processed instantly on a separate thread, both statements, even if they are run one after another, would produce different results.