Speech Recognition

Hello!

I’m a student working on a small project for class and I’m having some troubles (I’m pretty new to p5.js). I’m using the p5.speech library to get speech recognition into my project; basically what I want to do is get the words that are being said to be displayed in the sketch.

In the sketch, it seems like the recognized words are being turned into strings (or a string), but I just cant figure out how to get them to actually draw. The words display in the console.log perfectly as you speak, which should mean that it would be simple (right?). I’ve also tried a bunch of things to find out how the variable that stores the words functions, but I can’t get anything to work. I’m pretty stumped. If anyone can figure out how to get the words displayed onto the sketch, or at least use them like any other string, that would be great.

Here’s a link to the project:
https://editor.p5js.org/felixd1@tcnj.edu/sketches/1E3Vv2zTA

1 Like

Hi,

Welcome to the Processing community!
When you don’t know how to do something, you often check the p5.js reference because almost everything is here :

For drawing text on the canvas, here is what you need :

1 Like

Oh ok sorry didn’t see you were already using the text() function.

Yea I used the text() function to test a bunch of things, and try to display the text of course. Thanks though. My trouble lies in the variable that stores the words, since it really seems like it should work like any other string, but it just doesn’t.

@dannfelixx you have to write moving or changing stuff inside draw function. read wiki to get more idea.

Put this lines in draw function to render words in sketch.

if(String(mostrecentword) !== ""){
    text(String(mostrecentword), 20, 20);  
  }
1 Like

I tried a few different combinations of stuff in draw, and that line doesn’t seem to work :frowning: that’s why its so confusing, the mostrecentword variable doesn’t act like a string even though it looks like it should