Size() cannot be used here issue. Please Help!

Hello, I am currently trying to make some artwork for my media class. My professor is having us make the size with a width 1280px, and a height 720px. When starting to write the code that I would be using, I got an error message saying that the size() could not be used. I’m not sure why this error appeared, because as far as I am aware there are no issues with my syntax. However, it could be that there is an issue that I am unaware of, as I am still learning how to code with Processing. Help would be appreciated!

This is my code btw:

void setup() {
size(1280,720);

}

void draw(){
background(0);
ellipse(mouseX,mouseY,100,50);

}

Hello,

It works fine with Processing 3.5.3 on a Windows 10 PC.

:slight_smile:

Is there any way to make it work on Mac? I don’t have access to a Windows computer

sorry not have that hardware, and i read already that some Mac systems had problems using size() ( but when using it in a unusual way )

-a- is that your very first run of processing 3.5.3 IDE on this computer?
-b- did you try any of the included examples and all failed same?
-c- much more detail about the system version would be good
-d- and a picture of the processing IDE window with the error
-e- and please post code using the </> from the editor menu so it looks like

void setup() {
  size(1280, 720);
}

void draw() {
  background(0);
  ellipse(mouseX, mouseY, 100, 50);
}

here a snapshot how your code runs ( on my computer LOL )

This runs fine on macOS 10.12.6 / Processing 3.4

Are you sure that your sketch is a Java sketch, and it doesn’t say something like “p5.js” or “Python mode” in the upper right?

What version of macOS, and what version of Processing?