randomSeed() reuse

hello I’m a noob to Processing, I’ve figured out how to generate a seed for each image output but I can’t figure out how to reuse the same seed to generate the same image… I just need to know the format and where to put it, yes I searched in examples and in the forums … and have tried many things … thx in advance

float seed = System.nanoTime();

void setup(){

colorMode(HSB);
  size(1000, 1000);
  background(360, 100, 100);
}

void draw() {

// code here
}

void keyPressed() {

if (key == 's') {     
    saveImage();
  } 
}

void saveImage() {

save("name"+"-"+ seed +"-.png");
  println("Saved");
}

Hi @Hermes,

Welcome to the forum! :wink:

What do you mean by “same image”? Do you mean the same frame?

In this case, use frameCount which is the number of frames since the beginning of the sketch.

The system variable frameCount contains the number of frames displayed since the program started. Inside setup() the value is 0 and and after the first iteration of draw it is 1, etc.

If you just want a random number every time, just use the random() function:

Generates random numbers. Each time the random() function is called, it returns an unexpected value within the specified range. If only one parameter is passed to the function, it will return a float between zero and the value of the high parameter. For example, random(5) returns values between 0 and 5 (starting at zero, and up to, but not including, 5).

hi thanks I think I’m explaining this wrong of course here is a page that sort of explains what I’m referring to … it’s the 1st bit of code under " Creating Deterministic Sketches"

also Tyler Hobbs refers to this what I’m trying to do

basically I have the seed for any specific sketch but I can’t figure out the code to reuse the generated seed for a sketch I want to reproduce

thx :slight_smile: