Processing on Microcontrollers?(Teensy, Arduino, etc.)

Hi everyone.

I am pretty sure there is a similar question but I couldn’t find the answer I want. Sorry if this is redundant. (I am a noob, still learning)

My Question: Is there any way to run Processing on Microcontrollers?(Teensy, Arduino, etc.)

Seems like Processing only runs on Windows, Mac, and Linux. I was wondering if it is possible to run on microcontrollers like Arduino, without desktop. I saw a post someone exporting application and running on Raspberry Pi, but Raspi is not an option for me here, since it is not RTOS.

For better scope of my project,

Project: [Bluetooth Speaker] -> [ADC] -> [Teensy, FFT] -> [Processing] -> [LED Matrix]

My problem: I got the FFT data from microcontroller(Teensy), how do I use that data to drive LED matrix, but without computer. (It is an installation, so it needs to standalone without computer)

Any feedback or advice is welcomed. Thank you so much!

Processing runs on Pi, has its own section on website. Not what you want.

Seen this: https://processing.org/tutorials/electronics/ ?

In general

In general, Arduino comes with its own programming language, derived from processing. It has its own IDE from where you can upload to Arduino.

To download IDE, see https://www.arduino.cc/en/Main/Software

Superb documentation on this website and forum too.

So no need to use processing imho.

Chrisir

There is a statement about this here:

That states:

The Processing approach has also been applied to electronics through the Arduino and Wiring projects. Arduino uses a syntax inspired by that used with Processing, and continues to use a modified version of the Processing programming environment to make it easier for students to learn how to program robots and countless other electronics projects.

A related discussion:

:)

1 Like