Problem with storing packed-data in a texture

Hello forum members,
I’m new to using shaders in Processing and need some help please. There is something I don’t understand about my code and I’m hoping one of you experts will be able to give me some guidance.

In summary: I’m experimenting with storing particle positions in a texture, then retrieving the information to plot the particle. Everything seems to work as expected so long as I use low resolution positions which will fit into the 8-bit channel of the texture, i.e. if I save the positions as vec4(x, y, 0., 1.). However, I need more resolution but when I try to pack the channels like this: vec4(LSB-x, LSB-y, MSB-x, MSB-y) I run into problems.

I’ve searched this forum and the internet for clues and there are a few leads, but nothing that directly answers my questions. These links provided helpful context:

To add some more details about my particular code:

1. I use 2 shaders: ‘initShader’ (frag only) initializes the positions of N particles and writes these positions into a texture. It is my intention to use random positions, but while I’m debugging I’m currently setting all positions to the middle of the sketch window i.e. (x,y) = (0.5, 0.5).

2. ‘plotShader’ (vertex+fragment) to plot the particle on the sketch window: ‘plot.vert’ takes the texture and extracts the position information, then ‘plot.frag’ draws a green dot at the correct position.

3. The texture ‘tex’ is a PGraphic with size (N x 1) where N is the number of particles. It is my understanding that each of the N entries can hold four 8-bit channels i.e. vec4(R, G, B, A)

4. There is also a PShape ‘shp’ containing N vertices. I draw this shape to ensure the ‘plot.vert’ shader is executed the correct number (N) times - once for each particle. The vertex coordinates (0,0), (1,0), (2,0), … (N-1,0) are simply used as an index into the texture which contains the actual particle positions.

Here is the full code:

“Particle_packing.pde”