Problem loading random images and interactivity

Hello! I’m new to Processing but have experience with other bits and bats of coding, but feel I’m really banging my head against the wall here.

All I want is to draw a canvas that loads a random background image and another random image overlaying that at a set of coordinates, then on the mouse button being pressed it redraws the whole thing. I’ve read and reread various tutorials and posts, rewritten my code a few times and feel a bit flummoxed. I feel like this should be quite straightforward but think I’ve confused myself.

Any guidance would be deeply appreciated.

// LOAD IMAGES INTO ARRAY
PImage[] head = new PImage[10];
PImage[] eyes = new PImage[2];
int rand;

void setup() {
  size(600, 800);
 background(0);
 rand = int(random(0,9));  //CREATES RANDOM NUMBER
 takerandomimage("head_" + nf(rand, 3) + ".jpg");  //APPLIES R NUMBER TO FILENAME
}

// THIS IS THE FUNCTION
void takerandomimage(String fn) {
   head = loadImage(fn); //LOAD RANDOM IMAGE
   image(head,0,0,600,800);//DISPLAY RANDOM HEAD
   image(eyes,250,250,200,200);//DISPLAY RANDOM EYES
}

//IF MOUSE PRESSED RELOAD RANDOM IMAGES ONTO CANVAS
mousePressed(redraw) {
}
}

1 Like

Hey!

First of all, I see you’re creating an array of images with 10 spaces right off the bat and another array with 2 images.
Be aware that this doesn’t actually load any images into the array, which is a collection of variables. running new PImage[10] simply allows the memory allocation of 10 null PImage objects.
headisnull

Second, you did a good job creating your setup! the first two lines are good.