Passing voice data to Processing

Hi,

I am a beginner in using Processing. I would like to make a project where voice commands (given at a real time) by the microphone of the notebook/tablet/smartphone are passed to Processing to display events linked with specific words (e.g. if one says “Milk” on the microphone, Processing shows on the display window an image of a milk bottle saved in the data folder of the project): is it possible? How?
Thanks
Best regards
Humus

Hi @humus welcome to the forum.
I don’t think it is easy for a beginner, but it is possible. You will need the Google speech recognizer.
Here is a code for an Android device that can capture words.

Thanks Noel,

but how to build the entire code? I tried to visit the link you have indicated but I can’t undrstand…thanks

But did you run the code?
Did it work?

no because it needs libraries that I don’t find…

These are native libraries already existent on the device. Just run the code. What Android version are you using.

but I have to run it on an Android device? How to run Processing on an Android device? Thanks

Download the app APDE, on the Play Store. You speak the words into your device’s microphone, and use the OscP5 library to transmit over wifi to the sketch on your PC which can display the images.

Where I have to install OscP5 library? On Android device or pc Processing version?

Also, how to set Wi-Fi to pass all to the pc? Do I need a separated router?

thanks

On both. Here you can download the android version and a sample sketch for communication between phone and PC. The lib for PC you can install from the IDE.
It’s supposed to work on your home network provider. You do use one, isn’t it?

It doesn’t work. I will try again with a dedicated router, probably that is the problem.

The thing that I would like to realize, in alternative, should be:

1. register a voice recording;