Passing an Argument to a Function

Hi -
I’m new to Processing and I’m trying to make a simple function that allows me to make grids out of a variably-input shapes.

I am not exactly sure how this would work - I still don’t understand a lot of the terminology. I am sharing some code below that will maybe show what I’m trying to do, even though it doesn’t work properly.

import processing.svg.*;

void setup() {
  size(800, 800);
  noLoop();   
}

void draw() {
   gridMaker(arc(50, 50, 80, 80, 0, PI));
        }
      }
  };
  arc

void gridMaker() { 
  shape
   for (int u = 1; u<20; u++){
     for (int v = 1; v<20; v++){
        pushMatrix();
        translate(u * 10, v*10);
        {shape}
         popMatrix();
     }
   }
 };
1 Like

Hi @bcabc,

Welcome to the forum! :wink:

If I paste the code in the Processing editor, I get the following errors:

As you can see, your program is not well structured and therefore the computer can’t run your code.

Programming languages always force you to write code with a certain syntax and format. For example blocks (opened with a curly bracket) are always closed.

If you are a beginner with Processing, I encourage you to check the tutorials:

2 Likes

Hi Josephh -
Yes, I understand that the code does not work. What I was hoping is that someone here could help me get it to work. The idea is that I would be able to pass a “shape” - something like an arc - to the gridMaker function. Is that possible? Or does it need to be written totally differently?

All right but is it your first coding experience? Because the way you wrote the code is not correct in Java (the language used by Processing).

For example, every instruction must end with a semi colon, so writing arc and shape doesn’t work.

Also, the arc() function doesn’t return anything (see the doc), it returns void. And a variable can’t have a void type in Java.

You have additional curly brackets that doesn’t close a block (after gridMaker) and therefore it can’t compile.