P5 convolution does not decrease the sound amplitude

Hi, I tried the nice example in the p5js.org examples page (examples | p5.js), though with my own sounds and reverb files.
My goal is to make a convolution of an original signal with the impulse response of a filter which changes both the frequency and the amplitude of the signal. An example if a low-pass filter and an attenuation of 20 dB. I can hear the low-pass filtering but not the 20dB decrease. it seems that the processed file plays back with maximum dynamic range, therefore no attenuation can be heard.
Any similar experience or advice from your side is more than welcome!
Thanks, Fred

Does a gain node work?
https://p5js.org/reference/#/p5.Gain

Note that p5.Sound does a lot behind the scenes (it’s likely that the impulse response is normalized) and if you want to go deeper I highly recommend to use tone.js or native web audio API :slight_smile:

Hi and thanks for you quick feedback! I am pretty new at javascript and P5, come from Matlab programming environment. You thought about normalization of the signal seems interesting, I would really like to find the detailed documentation about what createConvolver does, as well as process().
To tackle this, I would need to use gain as you said in order to compensate for the normalization. The question if there is a p5.sound settings telling to not normalize.
The whole purpose of my application is that frequency content and attenuation (gain) is preserved. I want to demonstrate the sound attenuation of walls and facades in building.
I would look into tone.js

I looked into the code and it seems not p5.sound but Web Audio handles normalization. Under the hood, p5.js simply wraps createConvolver of Web Audio API (as p5.Convolver extends p5.Reverb)