NullPointerException when calling fill() from another class

Hi,
I’m new to processing and trying to learn the basics of it. However I’m having this weird error which is hindering me from properly organizing my code.
Basically: I have a base class which has functions for drawing stuff (DrawRect, DrawCircle, DrawText etc), in those functions the appropriate functions of Processing are called (rect, ellipse etc).
Next I have a class which extends this base class. So I can call DrawRect from there and it works properly, I have no problems with that.
However I start encountering errors when I created another class called “Button” (which also extends the base class), in this class I wanted to implement all the functions that check for hovering and clicking and that kind of stuff. So I would just have to call button1.drawHover and it would draw new square if the mouse was hovering over the button.

So the problem is when I try to call DrawRect from the Button class itself, I get a nullpointer exception. Even when printing all the values directly before the rect() call in my Base Class, and seeing that the values are properly assigned, I still get a NullPointerException. I encounter the same error with every other drawing function, like fill().

Base class:

class GameBase extends PApplet {

def drawRectangle(r: Rectangle): Unit =
    rect(r.left,r.top, r.width, r.height, r.radii)

def setFillColor(c: Color): Unit = {
    println(c.red.toString + " " + c.green.toString + " " + c.blue.toString + " " + c.alpha.toString + " ")
    fill(c.red, c.green, c.blue, c.alpha)
  }

Button class:

class Button(a : Int, b : Int, c : Int, d : Int) extends GameBase{

def drawHover(mouseX : Int, mouseY : Int, color : Color = Color.LightGray, radii : Int = 5): Unit = {
   if(testMouse(mouseX, mouseY)) {
     setFillColor(color)
     val Rect = Rectangle(Point(a,b),c,d)     // a,b are the coordinates, c is width, d is height
     drawRectangle(Rect)
   }
 }
}

Error: