Mesh Library for Processing 3

Hi Guys,

I am new to Processing. I think :slight_smile: Haven’t used it for a while. What is the good and fast mesh manipulation library nowadays? Which is steel in active development.

I remember ToxicLib was amazing, but it haven’t been updated for ages.

Basically I need a mesh Lib with some basic physics simulation potentially. Say for creating origami shapes and flat panels.

Thank you

2 Likes

Anyone who does 3D in Processing. Will appreciate any information.
Thank you

Hi,

Did you check the 3D libraries listed on the Processing website ? :

2 Likes

Hi @artpen

If your meshes are complex and you need to do a lot of specific operations (split face, get vertices in sorted order, get neighbors in CCW-order, smooth, …), I would suggest HE_Mesh but the library doesn’t come with a physics engine.

For simpler operations, Toxiclibs still does a great job (although it is a bit slower than hemesh) and you get a simple physics engine.

4 Likes

Agree about HE_Mesh – for interchange I also recently stumbled on an old mesh translation library, although I haven’t tried it.

3 Likes

Hi @solub thank you. I looked at wblut last night.
It looks like what I need. I can probably find separate physics lib ?
Still experimenting…

1 Like

It really depends on your goal.

For a moving mesh (growing/folding/bending/…) I personally found Toxiclibs to be the easiest library to work with. It seems to me HE_Mesh is not really meant to deal with non-static meshes. Depending on the context you might have to rebuild the whole mesh at each iteration instead of updating a specific set of faces. I would advise asking @wblut on GitHub for a better and more detailed answer.