Little stuck on a concept

I’m really new to processing and I have an idea I want to execute but I’m not too sure where to start in general. I haven’t started just I’m just wondering if anyone has tips on how to do it.

I want to create a maze-like pattern but not based on a grid, I want lines to protrude from the middle then slowly make it’s way outwards, or just generally “point” towards the middle. They’re supposed to be zig-zag lines that are rigid and I don’t want them to be continuous.

somewhat like this.

Any suggestions?

1 Like

You have a nice idea there. And it’s doable. So you want to start drawing lines from center and grow them randomly outwards.
Can lines cross? If not does line stop before collision or will it change direction instead?
Do all lines grow at the same time or just one (or any other limited set)?

Very common pattern in processing sketches is to clear canvas and draw everything repeatedly in draw() cycle. Reason for this is that it’s very easy to add graphical elements in processing, but very difficult to remove them (what is underneath the removed element?). In your case you don’t necessarily need to remove anything, so you could just add to end of lines.

In both cases you will need a datastructure to store information about lines, especially of the end point (x, y), perhaps the direction it is going, possibly the speed too.

Perhaps you should try to draw one random line with noise (Reference / Processing.org), add a second line and then put 10 or 20 lines to a datastructure and draw them from it.

2 Likes

example

but still a long way to go

hit any key to redraw

// -----------------------------------------------------

void setup() {
  size (1400, 800);
  background(0);
}

void draw() {
  // clear & prepare canvas 
  background(0); 

stroke(255);
  myLine( 13 );
  myLine( 83 );
  myLine( 223 );
  myLine( 293 );
  myLine( 323 );

noLoop();
}

void keyPressed() {
  redraw();
}

void myLine(float angle) {
  // float angle=50;