Help needed for squares animation

Hello, I am a student at the Slade school of Art and I am looking for some help.
I have been trying to make animations of squares in after effects all term and my tutor told me about processing. I have a bit of experience with code, I have done it in after effects expressions and have worked a bit with python. But am totally new to processing.

I would basically like to make something which is similar to the first 25 seconds of this video. https://artmuseum.pl/en/filmoteka/praca/rybczynski-zbigniew-kwadrat

I would like to animate squares, for the moment colour is not important, black and white checker is fine. First I am interested in this grid of 4 squares randomly (psuedo-randomly) turning off and on. Then the squares subdivide and move in psuedo-random patterns.

Could anyone tell me how to start something like this? I am willing to put time into developing the system, but for now am struggling with the basics and how I might build a pattern generator which could help.

I am interested in procedural noise patterns as methods to generate the pattern, perhaps perlin noise would be helpful? Any help would be amazing.

Thanks

Laura x

This post shows an idea of how to do something like this. The concept is that you have a class SquareCell which is defined by a size and position and it has a function call draw() do draw itself. The code has an ArrayList of squares. In each frame you draw all the squares based on the noise pattern. The trick is that every so often in draw, say every 10 seconds, you change the grid pattern as to make the square smaller. When you do this, you remove all the squares in the list and then you add the squares back again with a new size and with a defined position, which is based on size. Let us know if this is enough info to get you started or if something is not clear.

By the way, if you want to try, there is a python mode in Processing. I am not good at it, but I could always give it a try.

Kf