KinectPV2: get and import obj files

Hi all!
I’m a beginner in Processing and my boss asked me to interface Kinect for XBOX ONE (or Kinect V2) to PC for record pointclouds’ videos (nothing easier…) and to record some coloured frames of a moving arm of a person.

I’ve found KinectPV2 libraries on GitHub and in one of examples I’ve found a Sketch (RecordPointCloud) to record frame and get it as OBJ files.
It’s not like a video, but works very well and with a Blender’s addon I can create a OBJ Sequence that is like a video.

For the second part, I tried to import these OBJ frames in Processing with an example in Basic/Shape folder (LoadDisplayOBJ) to avoid a second program and use only Processing.
But when I start the Sketch…there is nothing in the window.

In blender I can see the pointclouds, but if I import a frame in Processing or in another 3D program (like 3D Build) they don’t show me nothing.

Why?
There’s a better way to import OBJ in Processing? Or a better way to get an OBJ file from a frame compared to the RecordPointCloud skecth?

I hope I explained myself

Thank you for your help!

1 Like

Can you show us your code?

Hi tony!
This is the sketch I used to import OBJ file in Processing

PShape rocket;

float ry;

public void setup() {
  size(640, 360, P3D);

rocket = loadShape("frame00.obj");
}

public void draw() {
  background(0);
  lights();

translate(width/2, height/2 + 100, -200);
  rotateZ(PI);
  rotateY(ry);
  shape(rocket);

ry += 0.02;
}

frame00.obj is the name of file. Obviously, the file is in data folder of sketch folder

1 Like

I haven’t worked too often with .obj files. What does the pointcloud look like rendered in Blender?

Hi elyon,
Is your object only dots?
I think you need to have surface to be able to see something.
(It is like the render mode in blender: you can’t see the points, you can see them only in edit mode)

this is how the pointcloud frame caugth by kinect appears in Blender.

Hi jb4x!