Is there a way to make random grids/layouts in Processing?

Hi everyone,

I’m a visual designer and I’m new to processing. I would like to know if there are any possibilities in Processing to create random aesthetic grids/layouts for editorial projects let’s say that are very similar to the Swiss International Style. Does someone of you have a clue how to do that?

Could you provide a link please?`
…and welcome to the forum!

Thank you for welcoming me! In general I want to create sort of helplines like this:

https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&source=images&cd=&ved=2ahUKEwj_8onh-LzkAhWPKVAKHV2JB6QQjRx6BAgBEAQ&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.pinterest.com%2Fpin%2F370139663099732410%2F&psig=AOvVaw2lk2jLiTdUj521UIlhhnVc&ust=1567884916013730

I want to use those lines later in InDesign or Illustrator to work with them to align objects, texts, shapes and such. My question is if there is any way to create these aesthetically, but also randomly to bring a bigger variety to them than just my imagination. I hope I explained it well.

see Creating a grid with a PShape

Cool, thank you so much!

1 Like

If you want a design grid, then you probably want guidelines / rules that you can use to size, snap, and crop all kinds of elements – text boxes, rects, ellipses, images, etc.

Here is an example of function that should return a ruler:

float[] ruler (float start, float stop, float column, float gutter) {
}

Now you create two rulers:

float[] rx = ruler(0, width, 40, 10);
float[] ry = ruler(0, height, 40, 5);

now you can place any element by referencing ruler lines.

ellipse(rx[1], ry[1], rx[2], ry[2] );
rect(   rx[2], ry[1], rx[6], ry[8] );
text( "hi", rx[3], ry[2], rx[5], ry[7] );

Now that your abstract shapes and text blocks are ruled in, redefine your ruler values to change the layout dimension without altering your rendering code.

2 Likes