Irregular image to button

Is it possible to use an irregular image as a button?
That is, an image that along the X has different measures of Y, and vice versa, I can use to MousePressed ?
Thanks!

The short answer is yes.

Create an image and make the non-button face pixels transparent. Load this image into a PGraphics object, you can use image("button_image.png", x, y) to show the button in the sketch. When the mouse is over the image calculate the pixel position in the image corresponding to the mouse position and if it is non-transparent it is over the button face.

1 Like

I’m sorry, I do not know the program so well! I’m still a beginner.
Could someone give an example of the code?

The example given is basically to treat it as rectangular button for clicking purposes, but use an image where the part you want to not be visible is transparent. So you detect the press / release / click, but then use some code to decide whether the exact spot clicked was in the visible region and only do the button’s action if it was.

The simple way is to use the get(x, y) method to get the color of a a particular pixel in the display area, such as the one at the mouse coordinates. For a transparent image the color you’ll get when clicking on the transparent region is the one of whatever was behind it when drawn, but that’s not important as you’re only concerned with whether it is the color of the button. However that does mean that the two must be different colors and the desired region of the “button” image must be one solid color.

If you want to use any image, even one with text and other stuff on it then you need to do something a bit more complicated to determine that the mouse falls in the intended region since the difference between button and not has nothing to do with a simple dimension like being the right color.